October 24, 2020

The Other Room: Yemi Alade Shades Buhari Before 20k Audience


Advertise here P1

Afropop singer, Yemi Alade, at the just concluded 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards, threw a major shade at Nigerian President, Muhammadu Buhari, over his comment that insinuated that women are restricted to the kitchen and other rooms.The King of Queens, as she is popularly known, while receiving the award for Best Female Artiste said, “Give it up to all the African women in the building.

“We’re not meant for the kitchen alone, we are not meant for the living room alone, we are not meant for the other room alone.

“We are hardworking women and we belong to the society too.

“If not, I won’t be here receiving this award.”

The 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards took place on Saturday night at the Ticketpro Dome in Johannesburg, hosted by Bonang Matheba.

The award recognized the most popular contemporary music in Africa, celebrating talents across 18 award categories.

It was a big night for Nigeria, as pop star Wizkid scooped three awards with wins in the prestigious Best Male and Artist of the Year categories, and scoring one extra trophy for his featured performance on Best Collaboration.

Reggae-dancehall singer, Patoranking won the Song of the Year category for his chart-topping hit, “My Woman, My Everything”, while Tekno was named Best Breakthrough Act.

South African stars Cassper Nyovest and Emtee won for Best Live and Best Hip Hop respectively, with Shekhinah and Kyle Deutsch scoring gold in Best Pop/Alternative.

Kenyan Afro-pop band, Sauti Sol got the Best Group award.

Here is a Full List of Winners
BEST FEMALE – Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
BEST MALE – Wizkid (Nigeria)
BEST GROUP – Sauti Sol (Kenya)
BEST LIVE ACT – Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
BEST FRANCOPHONE – Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)
BEST LUSOPHONE – C4 Pedro (Angola)
BEST POP / ALTERNATIVE – Shekinah & Kyle Deutsch (South Africa)
BEST HIP HOP – Emtee (South Africa)
LEGEND AWARD – Hugh Masekela
BEST COLLABORATION – DJ Maphorisa ft Wizkid & DJ Buckz (SA/NG)
VIDEO OF THE YEAR – Youssoupha (Congo) – “Niquer Ma Vie”
PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR – Caster Semenya (South Africa)
AFRICA RE-IMAGINED AWARD – Vivian Onano & Mary Taedzerwa
ARTIST OF THE YEAR – Wizkid (Nigeria)
SONG OF THE YEAR – Patoranking ft Wande Coal – “My Woman, My Everything (Nigeria)


Buy this Ad space P2